Dropbox is adding a new option for how its users can share files. Dropbox Transfer introduces a way to send files between people rather than simply sharing access for collaboration.
Files can be dragged and dropped directly from your computer or from within Dropbox storage. When you’re ready to send, Dropbox will create a link that can be shared with anyone so that they can have their own copy. The original file will remain in your possession. Transfer lets you send files of up to 100GB, a big leap over the file cap for sharing on most email services.
If you’re using Dropbox Transfer in a professional capacity, you can customize the download page to show your own uploaded image or just to set a different stock background color or artwork.
There are also options for securing the files you send. The Transfer links can have a password applied to them or set an expiration date. If you want, you can be notified that the file has been received and track how many times the link has been accessed.
Dropbox Transfer is currently in beta testing. It is slated to roll out to all users soon, but Dropbox didn’t provide any further details about its timeline to fully launch the transfer option.
Many tech companies have gotten on the bandwagon of file-sharing programs, meaning that Dropbox has more competition now than when it launched back in 2008. It has faced a few security issues over the years, including a theft of nearly 7 million alleged username/password pairs in 2014 and a hack that impacted 68 million accounts in 2016.